Skip to main content

Clinical and Research Faculty | Clinical Nursing and Advanced Practice Providers | Vascular Access Nurses | Faculty Alumni | Administration | Research/Clinical Staff | Statistician

UNC Kidney Center Directors

Dr. Ron FalkRonald Falk, MD
Nan and Hugh Cullman Eminent Professor; Co-Director, UNC Kidney Center; Chairman, Department of Medicine
Office Location: 125 MacNider
919-843-6485
ronald_falk@med.unc.edu

Abhijit V. Kshirsagar, MD, MPHAbhi Kshirsagar, MD, MPH
Professor of Medicine; Deputy Director, UNC Kidney Center; Chief Medical Director, UNC Dialysis Care; Medical Director, Carolina Dialysis Siler City
Office Location: 7155 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2684
sagar@med.unc.edu

Prabir Roy-Chaudhury, MD, PhDPrabir Roy-Chaudhury, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine
Co-Director, UNC Kidney Center
prabir_roy-chaudhury@med.unc.edu

 

Clinical and Research Faculty

William J. Arendshorst, PhDWilliam Arendshorst, PhD
Professor of Cell Biology and Physiology; Director, Laboratory of Renal Physiology and Vascular Biology
Office Location: 6341-B Medical Biomolecular Research Building
(919) 966-1067

Donna Bunch, PhDDonna Bunch, PhD
Assistant Professor
Office Location: 5006 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2628
donna_bunch@med.unc.edu

Emily Chang, MDEmily Chang, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2621

Dominic Ciavatta, PhDDominic Ciavatta, PhD
Research Associate Professor, Department of Genetics
Office Location: Genetic Medicine Building (GMB) Room 5023A
919-843-6474

Romulo Colindres, MSPH, MDRomulo Colindres, MSPH, MD
Professor of Medicine; Director, Hypertension Clinic
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-966-2561 x251
romulo_colindres@med.unc.edu

0817-Chen-15-final-2

Dhruti Chen, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 5022-J Burnett-Womack
dhruti_chen@med.unc.edu

Cindy Denu-Ciocca, MDCindy Denu-Ciocca, MD
Professor of Medicine; Medical Director, Carolina Dialysis Pittsboro
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2673

cynthia_denu-ciocca@med.unc.edu

Vimal Derebail, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Medicine

Office Location: 5022-F Burnett-Womack
919-445-2637

Randy Detwiler, MDRandy Detwiler, MD
Allan Brewster Distinguished Professor of Medicine; Director, Transplant Nephrology
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2674

Katherine H. Falk, MDKatherine H. Falk, MD
Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 6004 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2671

Jennifer E. Flythe, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Medicine; Medical Director, Acute Dialysis Unit, UNC Hospitals
Office Location: 7016 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2656
jenny_flythe@med.unc.edu

Meghan Free, PhDMeghan Free, PhD
Assistant Professor
Office Location: 5020 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2629

Eddie Fuller, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2676
efuller@unch.unc.edu

Keisha Gibson, MDKeisha L. Gibson, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics; Chief, Division of Pediatric Nephrology
Office Location: Burnett-Womack
919-445-2638
kgibson@med.unc.edu

Dorey Glenn, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor
Office Location: 5022-E Burnett-Womack
919-445-2619
dorey.glenn@med.unc.edu

Gerald Hladik, MDGerald Hladik, MD
Doc J Thurston Distinguished Professor of Medicine; Chief, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension; Director, Nephrology Training Program
Office Location: 7008 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2644
gerald_hladik@med.unc.edu

Susan Hogan, PhD, MPHSusan L. Hogan, PhD, MPH
Professor of Medicine

Office Location: 7009 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2679

Thomas Hostetter, MDThomas Hostetter, MD
Professor of Medicine

Office Location: 7017 Burnett-Womack

Koyal Jain, MDKoyal Jain, MD, MPH, FASN
Assistant Professor of Medicine; Associate Program Director, Nephrology Training Program; Director of Undergraduate Medical Education, Department of Medicine
Office Location: 7026 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2681

J. Charles Jennette, MDJ. Charles Jennette, MD
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Office Location 424 Brinkhous-Bullitt Bldg.
919-966-2421

charles_jennette@med.unc.edu

Victor Kim, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-966-2561
victor_kim@med.unc.edu

Mark Kleman, DOMark Kleman, DO
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2731
mark_kleman@med.unc.edu

Liz Kotzen, MD, MSCR
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2665
elizabeth.kotzen@med.unc.edu

Surya Manivannan, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
919-445-2719

Amy K. Mottl, MD, MPHAmy Mottl, MD, MPH, FASN
Associate Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 5022-C Burnett-Womack
919-445-2641
amy_mottl@med.unc.edu

Shannon Murphy, MDShannon Murphy, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 5022-H Burnett-Womack
919-445-2667
shannon.mahoney@unchealth.unc.edu

Lori O'Brien, PhDLori O’Brien, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Cell Biology and Physiology
919-966-1272

John Poulton, PhDJohn S. Poulton, PhD
Assistant Professor
Office Location: 5021 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2630

Monica Reynolds, MDMonica Reynolds, MD, MSCR
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 5022-K Burnett-Womack
monica_reynolds@med.unc.edu

Manish Saha, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 5022-D Burnett-Womack
919-445-2678

Keia Sanderson, MDKeia Sanderson, MD, MSCR
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-6119

Saad Shariff, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
saad_shariff@med.unc.edu

Patrick Taus, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: Burnett-Womack CB #7155
919-445-2718
ptaus@med.unc.edu

Karin True, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: Burnett-Womack CB #7155
919-445-2687
karin_true@med.unc.edu

Unimunkh Uriyanghai
Senior Research Scientist
919-966-2561
unimunckh_uriyanghai@med.unc.edu

Raven Voora, MDRaven Voora, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7007-D Burnett-Womack
919-445-2668
raven_voora@med.unc.edu

Katie Westreich, MD
Office Location: 7020 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2669
 

Hong Xiao, MDHong Xiao, MD
Associate Professor
919-966-2421
hongx@med.unc.edu

Gang Xi, PhD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 5009 Burnett-Womack
919-445-6342
ganx_xi@med.unc.edu 

Maria Jose Zabala Ramirez, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7034 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2640
mariajose.zabalaramirez@unchealth.unc.edu

Evan Zeitler, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7007 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2699
evan_zeitler@med.unc.edu

 

Clinical Nursing and Advanced Practice Providers

Lazarina Baez-Marinez, MSN, APRN, FNP- C

Lynn Woodall McCoy, RN, CNNLynn Woodall McCoy, RN, CNN
Pediatric Transplant Coordinator
Office Location: 7015-C Burnett-Womack
919-445-2661

Raquel MatiasRaquel Matias, RN, ADN
Clinical Nurse Coordinator
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2633

Lucy Wessinger, MSN, DNP, ANP-BCLucy Menefee, MSN, DNP, ANP-BC
Adult Nurse Practitioner
Office Location: 3325 Garden Rd, Burlington, NC
336-538-4922

 

Vascular Access Nurses

Kelley Downes, RNKelley Downes, RN

Faculty Alumni

Arthur Finn, MD
Professor of Medicine and Cell Biology and Physiology
919-265-3682
afinn@med.unc.edu

Steve Grossman, MDSteve Grossman, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
steven_grossman@med.unc.edu

Margaret Kiser, MDMargaret Kiser, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
margaret_kiser@med.unc.edu

Gloria Preston, PhDGloria Preston, PhD
Professor, Departments of Medicine and Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
gloria_preston@med.unc.edu

William Primack, MDWilliam Primack, MD
Professor of Clinical Medicine and Pediatrics

Jiajin Yang, MDJiajin Yang, MD
Associate Professor
Office Location: 5004 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2632
jjyang@med.unc.edu

Administration

Trina Pugh
Administrative Director
919-445-2648
trina_pugh@med.unc.edu

Katie Barnes
Administrative Coordinator
919-445-2646

Jean BrownJean Brown
Communication Specialist
919-445-2642
jean_brown@med.unc.edu

Agnes KokotAgnes Kokot
Business Analyst
919-445-2645

Belissa Lee, CPC
Medical Coder II
919-445-2652

Debra MorrowDebra Morrow
Administrative Assistant
919-445-2662

Rochelle MoserRochelle Moser
Fellowship Coordinator/Administrative Specialist
919-445-2647

Ebony Wright-James
Administrative Specialist – Burlington Nephrology Clinic
336-538-4922

Research/Clinical Staff

Lauren BlazekLauren Blazek
Clinical Research Data Manager
919-445-2635
lmccabe@email.unc.edu

Sahib Chandi
Research Assistant
919-966-2561
sachandi@email.unc.edu

Emmie Cole, MS, CCRP
Research Coordinator
919-445-2662
emmie_cole@med.unc.edu

Cassandra Picataggio, MHA
Research Projects Manager
919-445-6790
cassandra_bowman@unc.edu

Tashas Cameron-Wheeler
Clinical Research Coordinator
919-445-2898
tcamero@med.unc.edu

Jasmine Durham
Clinical Research Coordinator
919-962-5450
jrdurham@email.unc.edu

Anne FromentAnne Froment, MSW
Clinical Research Manager 
919-445-2622
anne_froment@med.unc.edu

Dhatri Kakarla
Clinical Research Assistant
919-843-5499
dhatri_kakarla@med.unc.edu

Sora Lee
Social/Clinical Research Specialist
919-445-2657
leesora@email.unc.edu

LewisSarah Lewis
Senior Clinical Research Data Coordinator
919-445-2730
sarah_lewis@med.unc.edu

Sara Kelley, MPH
Clinical Research Manager
919-445-2658
sara_kelley@med.unc.edu 

Young-Hyun Moon
Research Technician
919-445-6785
younghyun_moon@med.unc.edu

Caroline J. Poulton, MSWCaroline J. Poulton, MSW
Research Projects Manager

919-445-2636
caroline_poulton@unc.edu

Jill Powell, MPH
Program Coordinator
919-445-2618

Annabel Rivera, MS
Research Specialist
919-966-2561
annariv@email.unc.edu

Samantha Rubio
Clinical Research Assistant
919-445-2622
srubio@email.unc.edu

Amanpreet Singh
Research Assistant
919-966-2561
aksingh8@email.unc.edu

Simran Singh
Research Assistant
919-966-2561
 

Christine Wai
Research Technician, Roy-Chaudhury Lab
919-966-1142
cwai@email.unc.edu
Czesty Williams
Clinical Research Coordinator
919-445-2696
 

 

Statistician

Yichun HuYichun Hu, MS
919-445-2680