UNC Kidney Center and Division of Nephrology & Hypertension

Clinical and Research Faculty

William J. Arendshorst, PhD William Arendshorst, PhD
Professor of Cell Biology and Physiology; Director, Laboratory of Renal Physiology and Vascular Biology
Office Location: 6341-B Medical Biomolecular Research Building
(919) 966-1067
Clay Block, MD, MS, FASN
Professor of Medicine; Associate Program Director, Nephrology Training Program
919-445-2744

Donna Bunch, PhD Donna Bunch, PhD
Assistant Professor
Office Location: 5006 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2628
donna_bunch@med.unc.edu
Emily Chang, MD Emily Chang, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2621
Dominic Ciavatta, PhD Dominic Ciavatta, PhD
Research Associate Professor, Department of Genetics
Office Location: Genetic Medicine Building (GMB) Room 5023A
919-843-6474

Romulo Colindres, MSPH, MD Romulo Colindres, MSPH, MD
Professor of Medicine; Director, Hypertension Clinic
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-966-2561 x251
romulo_colindres@med.unc.edu
Matt Cooper, PhD
Assistant Professor
Office Location: 5021 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2630
mjcooper@med.unc.edu
Cindy Denu-Ciocca, MD Cindy Denu-Ciocca, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine; Medical Director, Carolina Dialysis Pittsboro
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2673

cynthia_denu-ciocca@med.unc.edu
Vimal Derebail, MD, MPH Vimal Derebail, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Medicine

Office Location: 6005 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2637
Randy Detwiler, MD Randy Detwiler, MD
Allan Brewster Distinguished Professor of Medicine; Director, Transplant Nephrology
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2674

Katherine H. Falk, MD Katherine H. Falk, MD
Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 6004 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2671
Ronald Falk, MD Ronald Falk, MD
Nan and Hugh Cullman Eminent Professor; Director, UNC Kidney Center; Chairman, Department of Medicine
Office Location: 125 MacNider
919-843-6485
ronald_falk@med.unc.edu
Jennifer E. Flythe, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Medicine; Medical Director, Acute Dialysis Unit, UNC Hospitals
Office Location: 7007-C Burnett-Womack
919-445-2656
jenny_flythe@med.unc.edu
Meghan Free, PhD Meghan Free, PhD
Assistant Professor
Office Location: 5020 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2629
Eddie Fuller, MD Eddie Fuller, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine; Medical Director, Carolina Dialysis Sanford
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2676
efuller@unch.unc.edu
Keisha Gibson, MD Keisha Gibson, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics; Chief, Division of Pediatric Nephrology
Office Location: Burnett-Womack
919-445-2638
kgibson@med.unc.edu
Barbara Gillespie, MD, MMD, FASN Barbara Gillespie, MD, MMD, FASN
Adjunct Faculty
Dorey Glenn, MD, MPH
Clinical Instructor
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2619
dorey.glenn@med.unc.edu
Akhil Hegde, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7007-D Burnett-Womack
919-445-2659

Gerald Hladik, MD Gerald Hladik, MD
Doc J Thurston Distinguished Professor of Medicine; Chief, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension; Director, Nephrology Training Program
Office Location: 7008 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2644
gerald_hladik@med.unc.edu
Susan Hogan, PhD, MPH Susan L. Hogan, PhD, MPH
Associate Professor

Office Location: 7009 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2679
Koyal Jain, MD Koyal Jain, MD, FASN
Assistant Professor of Medicine; Associate Program Director, Nephrology Training Program
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2681
Pankaj Jawa, MD Pankaj Jawa, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7029 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2664
J. Charles Jennette, MD J. Charles Jennette, MD
Kenneth M. Brinkhous Distinguished Professor and Chair
Campus Box #7525, Brinkhous-Bullitt Building
919-966-4676
charles_jennette@med.unc.edu
Lindsay A. Kruska, MD Lindsay A. Kruska, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2683
lkruska@unch.unc.edu
Abhijit V. Kshirsagar, MD, MPH Abhi Kshirsagar, MD, MPH
Professor; Chief Medical Director, UNC Dialysis Care;
Medical Director, Carolina Dialysis Siler City
Office Location: 7155 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2684
sagar@med.unc.edu
Judy Lester, MS, RDN, CSG, LDN
Clinical Dietician
984-974-7899
Amy K. Mottl, MD, MPH Amy Mottl, MD, MPH, FASN
Associate Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 6008 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2641
amy_mottl@med.unc.edu
Volker Nickeleit, MD Volker Nickeleit, MD
Professor; Director, Division of Nephropathology;
Director, Nephropathology Training Program
919-966-2421
volker_nickeleit@med.unc.edu  
Lori O'Brien, PhD Lori O’Brien, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Cell Biology and Physiology
919-966-1272
John Poulton, PhD John S. Poulton, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
919-962-2309
Manish Saha, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
919-445-2678
Keia Sanderson, MD Keia Sanderson, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-6119
Harsharan Singh, MD Harsharan Singh, MD
Professor
919-966-2421

hsingh@med.unc.edu
Kawan A. Swain, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine; Medical Director, Fresenius Dialysis Center of Mebane
Office Location: 7029 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2639
Karin True, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: Burnett-Womack CB #7155
919-445-2687
karin_true@med.unc.edu
Raven Voora, MD Raven Voora, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7007-D Burnett-Womack
919-445-2668
raven_voora@med.unc.edu
Katie Westreich, MD Katie Westreich, MD
Office Location: 7007-B Burnett-Womack
919-445-2669
 
Hong Xiao, MD Hong Xiao, MD
Associate Professor
919-966-2421
hongx@med.unc.edu

Clinical Nursing

Connie Gilet, MSN Connie Gilet, RN, MSN, ANP-BC
Adult Nurse Practitioner
Office Location: Burnett-Womack

919- 445-2657
Jenny Hawley, RN, MSN Jenny Hawley, RN, MSN, FNP-BC
Family Nurse Practitioner
Office Location: Burnett-Womack
919-445-2675jhawley@email.unc.edu
Lynn Woodall McCoy, RN, CNN Lynn Woodall McCoy, RN, CNN
Pediatric Nephrology Care Coordinator
Office Location: 7015-C Burnett-Womack
919-445-2661
Raquel Matias Raquel Matias, RN, ADN
Clinical Nurse Coordinator
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2633
Lucy Wessinger, MSN, DNP, ANP-BC Lucy Wessinger, MSN, DNP, ANP-BC
Adult Nurse Practitioner
Office Location: 3325 Garden Rd, Burlington, NC
336-538-4922

Vascular Access Nurses

Cindy Roberts, RN Cindy Roberts, RN
919-445-2653
Kelley Downes, RN Kelley Downes, RN

Recently Retired Faculty

Steve Grossman, MD Steve Grossman, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
steven_grossman@med.unc.edu
Donna H. Harward Donna Harward
Director of Education and Outreach
Margaret Kiser, MD Margaret Kiser, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
margaret_kiser@med.unc.edu
Philip Klemmer, MD Philip J. Klemmer, MD
Professor of Medicine
Roger Lamanna, MD Roger Lamanna, MD
Professor of Medicine
roger_lamanna@med.unc.edu
Gloria Preston, PhD Gloria Preston, PhD
Professor, Departments of Medicine and Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
gloria_preston@med.unc.edu
William Primack, MD William Primack, MD
Professor of Clinical Medicine and Pediatrics
Jiajin Yang, MD Jiajin Yang, MD
Associate Professor
Office Location: 5004 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2632
jjyang@med.unc.edu

Administration

Trina Pugh Trina Pugh
Center Administrator
919-445-2648
trina_pugh@med.unc.edu
Callie Blacknell Callie Blacknell
Medical Coder
919-445-2650
callie_blacknell@med.unc.edu
Jean Brown Jean Brown
IT Specialist
919-445-2642
jean_brown@med.unc.edu
Suzanne M. Hosman Suzanne M. Hosman
Research Administrator and Development Officer
Office Location: 6006 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2640
suzie_hosman@med.unc.edu
Sheri Kremer Sheri Kremer
Project Manager
919-445-2646
sheri_kremer@med.unc.edu
Agnes Kokot Agnes Kokot
Business Officer
919-445-2645
Belissa Lee Belissa Lee
Medical Coder

919-445-2652
Debra Morrow Debra Morrow
Administrative Assistant
919-445-2662
Rochelle Moser Rochelle Moser
Fellowship Coordinator

919-445-2647
Dorytha “Dodie” Robinson, MPH
Director, Renal Administration
Executive Office, UNC Hospitals
Office: 984-974-2366
Cell: 919-218-1422

101 Manning Drive, Medical School Wing E – 405

Research/Clinical Staff

Kristi Bickford Kristi Bickford
Transition Coordinator
919-445-2649
Lauren Blazek Lauren Blazek
GDCN Coordinator
919-445-2635
lmccabe@email.unc.edu
Adeline Dorough, MPH
Research Coordinator
919-445-2898
dorough@med.unc.edu 
Anne Froment Anne Froment
Clinical Research Coordinator
919-445-2622
anne_froment@med.unc.edu
Sandy Grubbs, MSN, RN,CPNP Sandy Grubbs, MSN, RN, CPNP
Clinical Research Nurse Coordinator
919-445-2658
Caroline J. Poulton, MSW Caroline J. Poulton, MSW
Research Projects Manager

919-445-2636
caroline_poulton@unc.edu
Candace Henderson Candace Henderson
Biorepository Coordinator

919-445-2623
Maggie D'Angelo Maggie D’Angelo
CureGN Coordinator
919-445-2682
Ian McInnis
Nephropathology Clinical Research Coordinator
919-843-8717

Brenda Meier Brenda Meier, RN
Clinical Research Nurse Coordinator
919-445-2730
brenda_meier@med.unc.edu
Carmen Mendoza Carmen Mendoza
Research Coordinator
919-445-2696
cemendoz@email.unc.edu
Research Program Manager Julia Narendra, MPH
Dialysis Research Program Manager
919-445-2686
 
Jill Powell, MPH
KEOP Program Coordinator
919-445-2618

Statistician

Yichun Hu Yichun Hu, MS
919-445-2680