Clinical and Research Faculty | Clinical Nursing | Vascular Access Nurses | Faculty Alumni | Administration | Research/Clinical Staff | Statistician

UNC Kidney Center Directors

Dr. Ron FalkRonald Falk, MD
Nan and Hugh Cullman Eminent Professor; Co-Director, UNC Kidney Center; Chairman, Department of Medicine
Office Location: 125 MacNider
919-843-6485
ronald_falk@med.unc.edu

Abhijit V. Kshirsagar, MD, MPHAbhi Kshirsagar, MD, MPH
Professor of Medicine; Deputy Director, UNC Kidney Center; Chief Medical Director, UNC Dialysis Care; Medical Director, Carolina Dialysis Siler City
Office Location: 7155 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2684
sagar@med.unc.edu

Prabir Roy-Chaudhury, MD, PhDPrabir Roy-Chaudhury, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine
Co-Director, UNC Kidney Center
prabir_roy-chaudhury@med.unc.edu

 

Clinical and Research Faculty

William J. Arendshorst, PhDWilliam Arendshorst, PhD
Professor of Cell Biology and Physiology; Director, Laboratory of Renal Physiology and Vascular Biology
Office Location: 6341-B Medical Biomolecular Research Building
(919) 966-1067

Magdalene Assimon, PharmD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension
Office Location: 6007-B Burnett-Womack
919-445-2634
massimon@med.unc.edu

Donna Bunch, PhDDonna Bunch, PhD
Assistant Professor
Office Location: 5006 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2628
donna_bunch@med.unc.edu

Emily Chang, MDEmily Chang, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2621

Dominic Ciavatta, PhDDominic Ciavatta, PhD
Research Associate Professor, Department of Genetics
Office Location: Genetic Medicine Building (GMB) Room 5023A
919-843-6474

Romulo Colindres, MSPH, MDRomulo Colindres, MSPH, MD
Professor of Medicine; Director, Hypertension Clinic
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-966-2561 x251
romulo_colindres@med.unc.edu

Cindy Denu-Ciocca, MDCindy Denu-Ciocca, MD
Professor of Medicine; Medical Director, Carolina Dialysis Pittsboro
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2673

cynthia_denu-ciocca@med.unc.edu

Vimal Derebail, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Medicine

Office Location: 5022-F Burnett-Womack
919-445-2637

Randy Detwiler, MDRandy Detwiler, MD
Allan Brewster Distinguished Professor of Medicine; Director, Transplant Nephrology
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2674

Katherine H. Falk, MDKatherine H. Falk, MD
Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 6004 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2671

Jennifer E. Flythe, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Medicine; Medical Director, Acute Dialysis Unit, UNC Hospitals
Office Location: 7007-C Burnett-Womack
919-445-2656
jenny_flythe@med.unc.edu

Meghan Free, PhDMeghan Free, PhD
Assistant Professor
Office Location: 5020 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2629

Eddie Fuller, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2676
efuller@unch.unc.edu

Keisha Gibson, MDKeisha L. Gibson, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics; Chief, Division of Pediatric Nephrology
Office Location: Burnett-Womack
919-445-2638
kgibson@med.unc.edu

Dorey Glenn, MD, MPH
Clinical Instructor
Office Location: 5022-E Burnett-Womack
919-445-2619
dorey.glenn@med.unc.edu

Akhil Hegde, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine; Medical Director, Carolina Dialysis Sanford
Office Location: 7007-A Burnett-Womack
919-445-2659

Gerald Hladik, MDGerald Hladik, MD
Doc J Thurston Distinguished Professor of Medicine; Chief, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension; Director, Nephrology Training Program
Office Location: 7008 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2644
gerald_hladik@med.unc.edu

Susan Hogan, PhD, MPHSusan L. Hogan, PhD, MPH
Associate Professor

Office Location: 7009 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2679

Thomas Hostetter, MDThomas Hostetter, MD
Professor of Medicine

Office Location: 7017 Burnett-Womack

Koyal Jain, MDKoyal Jain, MD, MPH, FASN
Assistant Professor of Medicine; Associate Program Director, Nephrology Training Program; Director of Undergraduate Medical Education, Department of Medicine
Office Location: 7026 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2681

Pankaj Jawa, MDPankaj Jawa, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7021 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2664

J. Charles Jennette, MDJ. Charles Jennette, MD
Kenneth M. Brinkhous Distinguished Professor and Chair
Campus Box #7525, Brinkhous-Bullitt Building
919-966-4676
charles_jennette@med.unc.edu

Mark Kleman, DOMark Kleman, DO
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2731
mark_kleman@med.unc.edu

Amy K. Mottl, MD, MPHAmy Mottl, MD, MPH, FASN
Associate Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 5022-C Burnett-Womack
919-445-2641
amy_mottl@med.unc.edu

Shannon Murphy, MDShannon Murphy, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 5022-H Burnett-Womack
919-445-2667
shannon.mahoney@unchealth.unc.edu

Volker Nickeleit, MDVolker Nickeleit, MD
Professor; Director, Division of Nephropathology;
Director, Nephropathology Training Program
919-966-2421
volker_nickeleit@med.unc.edu  

Lori O'Brien, PhDLori O’Brien, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Cell Biology and Physiology
919-966-1272

John Poulton, PhDJohn S. Poulton, PhD
Assistant Professor
919-962-2309

Monica Reynolds, MDMonica Reynolds, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 5022-K Burnett-Womack
monica.reynolds@unchealth.unc.edu

Joshua Sadolf, MDJoshua Sadolf, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7029 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2685
jsadolf@email.unc.edu

Manish Saha, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 5022-D Burnett-Womack
919-445-2678

Keia Sanderson, MDKeia Sanderson, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-6119

Saad Shariff, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
saad_shariff@med.unc.edu

Kawan A. Swain, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine; Medical Director, Fresenius Dialysis Center of Mebane
Office Location: 7030 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2639

Karin True, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: Burnett-Womack CB #7155
919-445-2687
karin_true@med.unc.edu

Raven Voora, MDRaven Voora, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Office Location: 7007-D Burnett-Womack
919-445-2668
raven_voora@med.unc.edu

Katie Westreich, MDKatie Westreich, MD
Office Location: 7020 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2669
 

Hong Xiao, MDHong Xiao, MD
Associate Professor
919-966-2421
hongx@med.unc.edu

Clinical Nursing

Connie Gilet, MSNConnie Gilet, RN, MSN, ANP-BC
Adult Nurse Practitioner
Office Location: Burnett-Womack

919- 445-2657

Jenny Hawley, RN, MSNJenny Hawley, RN, MSN, FNP-BC
Family Nurse Practitioner
Office Location: Burnett-Womack
919-445-2675jhawley@email.unc.edu

Lynn Woodall McCoy, RN, CNNLynn Woodall McCoy, RN, CNN
Pediatric Nephrology Care Coordinator
Office Location: 7015-C Burnett-Womack
919-445-2661

Raquel MatiasRaquel Matias, RN, ADN
Clinical Nurse Coordinator
Office Location: 7024 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2633

Lucy Wessinger, MSN, DNP, ANP-BCLucy Menefee, MSN, DNP, ANP-BC
Adult Nurse Practitioner
Office Location: 3325 Garden Rd, Burlington, NC
336-538-4922

Trish Thompson, ANP-BC
Adult Nurse Practitioner
Office Location: 105 Renee Lynne Ct., Carrboro, NC 27510
919-966-4359
patricia.thompson@unchealth.unc.edu

Vascular Access Nurses

Cindy Roberts, RNCindy Roberts, RN
919-445-2653

Kelley Downes, RNKelley Downes, RN

Faculty Alumni

Steve Grossman, MDSteve Grossman, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
steven_grossman@med.unc.edu

Margaret Kiser, MDMargaret Kiser, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
margaret_kiser@med.unc.edu

Philip Klemmer, MD Philip J. Klemmer, MD
Professor of Medicine

Roger Lamanna, MDRoger Lamanna, MD
Professor of Medicine
roger_lamanna@med.unc.edu

Gloria Preston, PhDGloria Preston, PhD
Professor, Departments of Medicine and Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
gloria_preston@med.unc.edu

William Primack, MDWilliam Primack, MD
Professor of Clinical Medicine and Pediatrics

Jiajin Yang, MDJiajin Yang, MD
Associate Professor
Office Location: 5004 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2632
jjyang@med.unc.edu

Administration

Trina PughTrina Pugh
Center Administrator
919-445-2648
trina_pugh@med.unc.edu

Callie BlacknellCallie Blacknell
Medical Coder
919-445-2650
callie_blacknell@med.unc.edu

Jean BrownJean Brown
IT Specialist
919-445-2642
jean_brown@med.unc.edu

Suzanne M. HosmanSuzanne M. Hosman
Research Administrator and Development Officer
Office Location: 6006 Burnett-Womack
919-445-2640
suzie_hosman@med.unc.edu

Sheri KremerSheri Kremer
Project Manager
919-445-2646
sheri_kremer@med.unc.edu

Agnes KokotAgnes Kokot
Business Officer
919-445-2645

Belissa LeeBelissa Lee
Medical Coder
919-445-2652

Debra MorrowDebra Morrow
Administrative Assistant
919-445-2662

Rochelle MoserRochelle Moser
Fellowship Coordinator
919-445-2647

Research/Clinical Staff

Kristi BickfordKristi Bickford
Transition Coordinator
919-445-2649

Lauren BlazekLauren Blazek
GDCN Coordinator
919-445-2635
lmccabe@email.unc.edu

Adeline Dorough, MPH
Research Coordinator
919-445-2898
dorough@med.unc.edu 

Anne FromentAnne Froment, MSW
Clinical Research Manager 
919-445-2622
anne_froment@med.unc.edu

Sandy Grubbs, MSN, RN,CPNPSandy Grubbs, MSN, RN, CPNP
Clinical Research Nurse Coordinator
919-445-2658

Caroline J. Poulton, MSWCaroline J. Poulton, MSW
Research Projects Manager

919-445-2636
caroline_poulton@unc.edu

Candace HendersonCandace Henderson, MPH
Biorepository Manager 

919-445-2623

Maggie D'AngeloMaggie D’Angelo, RN 
CureGN Coordinator
919-445-2682

Ian McInnis
Accounting Technician
919-843-8717

Brenda MeierBrenda Meier, RN
Clinical Research Nurse Coordinator
919-445-2730
brenda_meier@med.unc.edu

Carmen MendozaCarmen Mendoza
Research Coordinator
919-445-2696
cemendoz@email.unc.edu

Research Program ManagerJulia Narendra, MPH
Dialysis Research Program Manager
919-445-2686
 

Jill Powell, MPH
KEOP Program Coordinator
919-445-2618

Statistician

Yichun HuYichun Hu, MS
919-445-2680